16.5 C
Saturday, May 25, 2024

South Africa boosts women in construction with awards

More News

- Advertisement -

With the aim of celebrating and encouraging women in the construction industry, the Construction Industry Development Board (cidb) has developed an awards programme to showcase their projects and achievements.

The Empowerment and Recognition of Women in Construction (ERWIC) Awards Consist of ten awards categories, which are open for entry to any entity which is registered with the cidb and is at least 51% female-owned.

The awards also recognise clients, entities and individuals who support gender transformation and mentorship of women within the industry. Entries were open on the 15th June with winners named during Women’s Month in August.

Traditionally a male-dominated industry, the construction industry has seen a great evolution over the past few years. Today, women are increasingly assuming positions once considered ‘male’ roles,overcoming outdated stereotypes.

Enterprise development and empowerment of this emerging sector is core to the cidb’s strategy for growth and development of the construction industry. The cidb has identified women as a critical target for development and has chosen to celebrate and encourage this group through the ERWIC Awards process.

The aim of the awards is to encourage excellence among women and commitment among stakeholders to support women in their professional growth and development. Through the ERWIC Awards, the cidb also aims to promote role models for women in lower grade construction categories, and motivate women in the higher grades.

The ten awards categories are as follows:

  1. Project Delivery Excellence of the Year – Women-owned Construction Entity
  2. Rural Project of the Year
  3. Mentoring Entity of the Year
  4. Transformation Entity of the Year
  5. Youth-owned Women Contractor of the Year
  6. Woman-owned Contractor of the Year
  7. Woman Mentor of the Year
  8. Client of the Year
  9. Woman with Disability Contractor of the Year
  10. Chairman’s Award

Finalists may be organisations or individuals from the private or public sector, and must be actively registered with the cidb, where appropriate. Depending on the description and criteria of the category, the finalists may nominate themselves or be nominated by a third party.

Entered projects must have been completed in the Southern African regions between 1 January 2017 and 31 December 2019 to be eligible for the 2020 Awards. Additionally, the project must have been completed on time and to client satisfaction.

Also Read

Chad mulls 200MW solar PV plant in capital N’djamena

Bukinda Small Hydropower Project in Uganda commissioned

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Discover amazing advertising opportunities on CCE NEWS and get 20% off for your first advert. Click below:



Top Events